Forgot your makeup brush(es)? Sorted! ;)

I normally carry 2 medium sized bags cosmetic pouches to work: one for makeups I am currently experimenting, and one for brushes. I don’t like mixing brushes with makeup items. They are too fragile. Now why would I lug around these 2 pouches rather than leaving them at home then? Well, here’s why.

Living in the world-famous traffic jam city of Bangkok, it is really no surprise that many women do their faces in the car. I have seen a lady sweeping on her mascaras while driving. I kid you NOT. I was checking her out from the rear view mirror all the time. :p I have also seen a Thai lady doing her whole face, including lining her eyes, while the airplane was experiencing violent turbulence, while I watched in amazement and prayed not for my safety, but for her own that she didn’t poke her own eyes with the darn eyeliner pencil! And with some miracles or her super kungfu skills, she did not. Phew!

Office is another place a woman puts on her makeup, naturally, because one has to beat the traffic jam here. I fall into this category. I’d rather get up earlier, drag my arse off to work before most people leave their homes so that the traffic is more tolerable. Save time, save petrol and good for my car too. 🙂 Win, win, win!

Anyway, where was I? 🙂 Yes, speaking of what I normally carry to work. Today is one of those days that I am extra forgetful… left home in a hurry hoping to save even more petrol and time, I have forgotten to take the brushes pouch along!! When I arrived at the office, all I could do was analyze what I had with me to make the best use of. And… luckily I still have my fingers! LOL 😛

Here’s what I did.

Powder foundation
Normal: Kabuki brush                                  Today: Flat sponge that came with it

Loose powder
Normal: Fluffy powder brush                        Today: none because I don’t have the darn brush! Ugh!

Eye Shadows    
Normal: Shadow brushes                             Today: fingers and sponge tip of eyeliner pencil to smudge

Blush & highlight
Normal: Blush brush & shadow brush            Today: fingers 

Eye brows
Normal: Brow pencil with brush                    Today: brow pencil with brush 

With fingers, the only down point is that I have to wipe them clean before moving on to next step. A bit of a hassle. Now I wonder, how can one apply loose / compact powder with fingers? Can it be done and still look beautiful? I think I’ll have to do some research on this.

More later!

Tagged: ,

7 thoughts on “Forgot your makeup brush(es)? Sorted! ;)

  1. katylove1990 20/11/2012 at 7:10 PM Reply

    These brushes look great! Thanks for the tips =) Please check out my beauty blog as well ^__^ http://allintheblush.com/

    • chicmum 21/11/2012 at 1:58 PM Reply

      Thanks Katy. It wasn’t any tips at all. Hahaha! Your blog looks good! I’m gonna find many treasure reads there! 😀

  2. marisaporter 20/11/2012 at 9:44 PM Reply

    Ah we all can relate to being trapped somewhere with no makeup OR makeup and no brushes! How I hate those moments.
    http://wearyourvitamins.com

    • chicmum 21/11/2012 at 2:02 PM Reply

      Hello Marisa. Thanks for popping by. I think no makeup moment is rare. Well the least I have is in my bag is a couple of lipsticks which can be converted to cream blush as well. 🙂 But eye-liner… hmm… never really thought of that. I must put an eyeliner in my handbag for emergency!! 😀 Thanks for your reminder!

  3. fancieland 21/11/2012 at 3:40 PM Reply

    That blending brush and real techniques brush looks awesome

    • chicmum 22/11/2012 at 1:05 AM Reply

      Hello there! I have not a second of regret for the 217 blending brush and all of Real Techniques brushes! 🙂 Have you tried Real Techniques?

  4. […] mentioned in previous post, I get in very early for work just to avoid the traffic jam during peak hour (7.00-9.30 am). Today […]

Leave a Reply

