Revlon Professional Nail Enamel Remover strips my skin… OUCH!

I love Revlon nail polishes… they are pretty, come in a good selection of colours, cheap (about 140 baht.  Often on promotion), big size (which means price per ml is even lower!), decent brush. In fact, if I want to try a new nail polish colour, Revlon is the first place I go to.

Revlon Nail Enamel Remover - strips my skin... Ouch!

Revlon Nail Enamel Remover – strips my skin… Ouch!

Well, since I am using lots of Revlon nail polishes here, so I thought that their nail polish remover must be GREAT. Maybe the company formulate the remover to efficiently removes the nail polish formula which they would also know, right?

Wrong.

The darn nail polish remover has an extremely strong chemical smell. Although it says EXTRA GENTLE, the remover strips my skin… Every single time after I use this product using cotton pads, I am left with rough skin patches where my fingers have been holding the cotton pads. And I don’t take ages to do this job. It’s at most 5 minutes. It goes to tell you how strong or concentrate the acetone is.

And I hate that feeling. It will take a few days with constant moisturising to heal the skin back to normal.

The three bullet points on the bottle say:

  • Extra mild to help protect soft, fragile nails
  • Formulated with Calcium plus Potassium
  • Acetone-free, Non-stripping

Well, “Extra mild” and “non-stripping” are definitely a false claim, in my case. I don’t suppose the calcium and potassium are the culprits??

Therefore, sorry Revlon. For the sake of my skin, I will never purchase this again. 😦

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Revlon Professional Nail Enamel Remover strips my skin… OUCH!

  1. marisaporter 09/01/2013 at 9:10 PM Reply

    Sometimes companies remove well-known “culprits” and replace with less known things that are equally damaging. It’s dumb and a PR move. I don’t know what the calculated would be here though. It’s like the “sulfur-free!!!!” shampoos that replace them with equally harsh surfactants, or the fact that they advertise this in the first place, when really only sodium lauryl sulfate has proven to be the really nasty one (different from sodium laureth sulfate).

  2. chicmum 10/01/2013 at 1:33 AM Reply

    Thanks for your input, Marisa. You are right. Removing the well known culprits hoping that customers will buy into the “new improved formula” is just… a marketing stunt. We will still need to be guinea pigs to try whether the new formula is harmful or is it really improved. :/

Leave a Reply

