New Old Favourite #1: Rimmel Eyeshadow Duo in 321 Walnut Pearls

**The product(s) mentioned in this post is purchased by me. I am not affiliated with any companies.**

*The New Old Favourite series features products in my collection that I had forgotten, and am re-igniting my new love for them.*

Just as I was swearing off not wearing anymore taupe colours on my lid for now, I am back to this neutral tone from Rimmel. 😀 Oh fickle minded woman, I am!

Fairy Tale Time!

Long long time ago in the land of makeup newbie, the eyeshadow already came in many colours and palettes and singles and loose powder and cream and texture etc… Not to mention EVERY cosmetic company offered a wide range of it!

It made the newbie frightfully intimidated by it. Approaching the eyeshadows had always been a difficult and confusing task. Such task always ended up with nothing (arrrghhh!! WHICH one to choose??) or snatching one up in haste in order to end the misery and only resulted in disappointment when playing with it at home.

Of course, in those long ago times, this newbie did not know how to apply it properly, nor had any knowledge of making it lasts on lids. There was no kind and clever YouTube beauty gurus teaching her how to do all that without attending expensive makeup classes. She also had sentimental reasons to hold on to the eyeshadows that she ever bought.

Fortunately, with these sentimental reasons, an old favourite was born (??). 🙂

Back to present…

The Rimmel shadow duo in Walnut Pearls is among one the first few eyeshadows I bought many years ago while I was still in uni. I didn’t need eyeshadow in my youthful days (actual reason was I didn’t know how to apply it :p) so most I did was mascara and eyeliner, and a slick of lipstick.

Anyway, while re-organising my makeup boxes a few days ago, I came across this old gem again. Upon swatching it, I decided to re-learn how to make this work.

Rimmel SpecialEyes Duo Eye Shadow in 321 Walnut Pearls

Rimmel SpecialEyes Duo Eye Shadow in 321 Walnut Pearls

Forget about the battered casing as it’s old and it has been through a lot with me. In the old times, I WOULD NOT have paid any other attention to the back of the casing or remember what the name is. What I would remember would be: it’s a Rimmel eye shadow in brown and light. But of course if you ask me NOW, I can tell you the full name. :p

It says here that it can be used dry or wet… well to be honest I only ever used it dry. I will use it wet another day then.

As it is powder, and although it “lasts up to 8 hours”, I never buy into the “crease-free” claims.

I paired it up with Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze as a primer and I must say together they team up beautifully. Yep no NARS primer today. Test drive time!

LEFT Rimmel SpecialEyes in Walnut Pearls RIGHT Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze

LEFT Rimmel SpecialEyes in Walnut Pearls
RIGHT Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze

I swatched them alone and on top of one another as below.

1 Walnut Pearls (light colour), 1 swipe 2 Walnut Pearls (light colour), 3 swipe 3 Walnut Pearls (dark colour), 1 swipe 4 Walnut Pearls (dark colour), 3 swipes 5 Color Tattoo + Walnut Pearls (light colour) 6 Color Tattoo + Walnut Pearls (dark colour) 7 Color Tattoo only, 1 swipe

1 Walnut Pearls (light colour), 1 swipe
2 Walnut Pearls (light colour), 3 swipe
3 Walnut Pearls (dark colour), 1 swipe
4 Walnut Pearls (dark colour), 3 swipes
5 Color Tattoo + Walnut Pearls (light colour)
6 Color Tattoo + Walnut Pearls (dark colour)
7 Color Tattoo only, 1 swipe

The texture of the Rimmel eyeshadow is quite soft. I swiped 3 times for the light colour to show up on camera. When use alone, there is really no need to do that. My MAC 217 picked up the pigment quite well and I don’t need a lot of it.

I used the light colour as highlight on brow bones and inner corners of eyes. I used the dark colour over the Maybelline Color Tattoo which make the eyeshadow creaseless for 6 hours and counting. Layering both also made the colours more intense. If I’m at home I will happily use either one alone – depending on how lazy I am. :p

The eye shadows go well with my outfit colours today. Nothing exciting. Just polished and neat. 🙂

Pair well with these…

Colours of outfit today (as close to actual as possible)

Colours of outfit today (as close to actual as possible)

Maybelline Color Tattoo - Bad to the Bronze

Maybelline Color Tattoo – Bad to the Bronze

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “New Old Favourite #1: Rimmel Eyeshadow Duo in 321 Walnut Pearls

  1. Mrs B Thompson 17/01/2014 at 6:18 AM Reply

    I am just on the very end of my walnut pearls eyeshadow. Just wished i would would have stocked up, cant believe its been discontinued. GUTTED.

Leave a Reply

